Thelonious Monk - Solo Monk (2003 Hybrid SACD) (FLAC)

Size 369.794 MB   11 seeders     Added 2011-12-03 03:56:44

Stream torrent
Starting‥ You need BitLord! Get it from
To download or stream you need BitLord. Visit them at
Review by Thom Jurek (AMG)
Thelonious Monk made a total of six solo piano recordings in his lifetime. The first three were between 1954-1959 for the Riverside label and its affiliates, two were for Alfred Lion's Black Lion label very late in his career, and Solo Monk was in 1964 and 1965 recorded mainly out West while on tour. As with Legacy's other reissues, Solo Monk is a deluxe package for a fair price. Here are the original 12 tunes comprised of four originals and eight standards as well as nine really alternate takes. In addition, there is a recording here of his little-known or -played composition "North of the Sunset." Monk's solo recordings always stood in stark contrast to his ensemble works; the voice here is less strident and dissonant in that he plays against a less-varied set of tonalities, and the solo pianist has the opportunity to sing through the instrument because it is not accountable to any other player. The beauty of his "Sweet 'n' Lovely," or the old standard "I Should Care," are nearly unbearable. His read of "These Foolish Things" is fraught with some perilously large chord voicings that stray into other key signatures, and his two takes of "Ruby My Dear" included here are finer than any he recorded previously. This is perhaps *the* solo piano record to have by Monk.
Tracks 1-12 are the original album.
Tracks 13-21 are bonus tracks.
01. Dinah (Take 2) 
02. I Surrender, Dear 
03. Sweet And Lovely (Take 2) 
04. North Of The Sunset 
05. Ruby, My Dear (Take 3) 
06. I'm Confessin' (That I Love You) 
07. I Hadn't Anyone Till You 
08. Everything Happens To Me (Take 3) 
09. Monk's Point 
10. I Should Care 
11. Ask Me Now (Take 2) 
12. These Foolish Things (Remind Me Of You) 
13. Introspection 
14. Darn That Dream 
15. Dinah (Take 1) 
16. Sweet And Lovely (Take 1) 
17. Ruby, My Dear (Take 1) 
18. I'm Confessin' (That I Love You) (Take 1) 
19. I Hadn't Anyone Till You (Take 2) 
20. Everything Happens To Me (Re-Take 1) 
21. Ask Me Now (Take 1)
01 - Dinah (Take 2).flac 13.367 MB
02 - I Surrender, Dear.flac 19.205 MB
03 - Sweet And Lovely (Take 2).flac 15.841 MB
Gathering some info...

Register and log in Isohunt and see no captcha anymore!

4000 symbols left
Hash 5CE5E62479E767F70FB923249FB996C7B06B905F