AARGH Artists Against Rampant Government Homophobia

Size 20.536 MB   2 seeders     Added 2012-11-14 13:06:18

To download or stream you need BitLord. Visit them at BitLord.com
'AARGH! (Artists Against Rampant Government Homophobia)'

Mad Love, 1988

A full list of contributors (which is vast) can be found at the wiki page...

A partial list of contributors: Alan Moore, Nei.Gaiman, Dave Sim, Bryan Talbot, Bill Sienkiewicz, Harvey Pekar, Art Spiegelman, Robert Crumb, Steve Bissette, Rick Veitch, Brian Bolland, Gilbert Hernandez, Jaime Hernandez

AARGH (Artists Against Rampant Government Homophobia) was a 76-page one-off comics anthology published by Mad Love in 1988.

The comic was designed to aid the fight against Clause 28, which was a controversial amendment to the Local Government Act 1988, a British law which was designed to outlaw the promotion of homosexuality by local authorities. At that time Alan Moore, who was in a relationship with his wife and their girlfriend, felt that the law was heterosexist and that it would obviously affect them personally. To help their fight Moore formed Mad Love, his own publishing company, to release AARGH.

The title was a mixed bag of almost 40 stories, mostly comics with some text pieces. Moore himself contributed an eight-page story called 'The Mirror of Love', with Steve Bissette and Rick Veitch providing art. Other creators included Robert Crumb, Howard Cruse, Hunt Emerson, Neil Gaiman, Dave Gibbons, Los Bros Hernandez, Garry Leach, Dave McKean, Frank Miller, Harvey Pekar, Savage Pencil, Bill Sienkiewicz, Dave Sim, Posy Simmonds, Art Spiegelman, and Bryan Talbot.

Clause 28 was eventually repealed in 2003. Moore has also reworked 'The Mirror of Love' with illustrator José Villarrubia for Top Shelf Productions.		
AARGH! (Artists Against Rampant Government Homophobia).cbz 20.536 MB
Gathering some info...

Register and log in Isohunt and see no captcha anymore!

4000 symbols left