Darrow Fletcher

Size 94.767 MB   0 seeders     Added 2013-05-05 00:50:33

Stream torrent
Starting‥ You need BitLord! Get it from BitLord.com
To download or stream you need BitLord. Visit them at BitLord.com
There was a dilemma with compiling a CD of Darrow Fletcher’s recorded output in that he had two very distinctive periods to his career. The first part was the records he made in Chicago between 1965 and 1970, and then the handful of singles cut in Los Angeles in the second half of the 70s. As he was only 14 when he started recording, the two eras had quite a different feel.
In researching the 70s recordings Darrow made for Ray Charles’ Crossover label in Los Angeles, we turned up a cache of fully produced, previously unissued tracks. These included the complete tape of the unissued “Why Don’t We Try Something Brand New” album. Apart from longer versions of the four titles that came out on Crossover singles, there were five brand new songs. These were mainly from the pens of the Zane Grey and Len Ron Hanks team or Joel Webster; who had also provided the released songs. They were of a similar superb quality to the singles, the best dance track being ‘Secret Weapon’, written by Grey and Hanks with Jerry Butler. ‘(What Are We Gonna Do About) This Mess’ is another high quality groove, while ‘(And A) Love Song’ is a tender melodic ballad. ‘Together’ is a bluesier down-tempo tune and ‘(People Are Not) Wind-Up Toys’ is a pretty mid-paced number with a message, so prevalent in the mid-70s.
I am sure Crossover saw Darrow as a similar artist to Stevie Wonder during his mid 70s pomp; the funkier Joel Webster numbers in particular were in this vein. Although his two career stages were clearly defined geographically and historically, there were similarities. Zane Grey had grown up with Darrow inChicagowhich was where he and his writing partner Len Ron Hanks hailed from. Their first composition was Darrow’s penultimate 45 cut in Chicago, ‘Changing By The Minute’. Several of the Grey and Hanks Crossover tracks were written in Chicago prior to the duo following Darrow out to LA where the songs were cut. Darrow’s 60s fans will find plenty to admire in his later output as the songs are well crafted and produced with no expense spared. Despite the five year hiatus they can be seen as a progression of his maturity since the 60s.
Ray Charles seemed to take young Darrow under his wing and the notes describe a particularly poignant moment when the two appeared on stage together in Chicago. It is a mystery why the album never appeared as the label was quite adept at issuing music in this format, often on relatively little known acts such as Joel Webster himself. Darrow specifically mentioned versions of ‘Sunny’ and ‘Fever’ in recalling his time at Crossover. These tracks were actually cut after the LP and raise the possibility of a second album featuring them, the two Atlantic/Atco singles and other numbers such as the social commentary song ‘Election Day’ and the funky dancer ‘How Can You Live Without Love’.
All of the cherished 70s singles are here. Together with the unissued gems they give more than an hour of top quality modern soul from an artist whose excellent body of work is at last being recognised.
1. Honey Can I 
2. (What Are We Gonna Do About) This Mess 
3. (Love Is My) Secret Weapon 
4. Try Something New 
5. This Time (I'll Be The Fool) 
6. The Rising Cost Of Love 
7. (And A) Love Song 
8. Sunny 
9. We've Got To Get An Understanding 
10. How Can You Live Without Love 
11. Let's Get Together 
12. It's No Mistake 
13. Election Day 
14. Fever 
15. Together 
16. Improve 
17. (People Are Not) Wind Up Toys
Fletcher was a singer with an urgent, characterful voice who worked for Ray Charles's Crossover Records on swooshing, disco-era "modern soul" sides so obscure they sold in handfuls.
Opening track "Honey Can I" is an absolute belter, but everything's well produced and arranged. When the compilers learnt Fletcher was now singing with a homeless men's choir in Chicago, they coaxed him into a comeback. In Cleethorpes.
Here's a link for Northern Soul fans.
Darrow Fletcher/1.Honey Can I (Zane Grey-Hanks) (1979).mp3 5.935 MB
Darrow Fletcher/10.How Can You Live Without Love (Zane Grey-Hanks-Smith) (1976).mp3 5.593 MB
Darrow Fletcher/11.Let's Get Together (Z.Grey-Hanks-Scarborough) (1977).mp3 3.861 MB
Gathering some info...

Register and log in Isohunt and see no captcha anymore!

4000 symbols left
Hash 365ba0f0130d3d3d362beaa5cf2deca0cdafdb7a